Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Tidal fraser fishing - newbie  (Read 5550 times)

rileym97

Tidal fraser fishing - newbie
« on: August 07, 2015, 04:18:22 PM »

I am still new at fishing in the Fraser river but I know there is going to be a big pink salmon run this year so I want to get on board with everyone else an enjoy some of the fishing. I just want to ask how to fish for pink salmon. I have heard they are the easiest of the bunch and figured they are a perfect target for me. I got all my licenses and am ready to fish - except for the part where I know how to fish for salmon. If you can give me some helping tips to get me started I would be grateful! Thanks.

Nicolas The Fisherman

Re: Tidal fraser fishing - newbie
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2015, 04:35:11 PM »

I am still new at fishing in the Fraser river but I know there is going to be a big pink salmon run this year so I want to get on board with everyone else an enjoy some of the fishing. I just want to ask how to fish for pink salmon. I have heard they are the easiest of the bunch and figured they are a perfect target for me. I got all my licenses and am ready to fish - except for the part where I know how to fish for salmon. If you can give me some helping tips to get me started I would be grateful! Thanks.
Casting and retrieving spoons, spinners and buzz bombs in pink colours is the best and easiest way to catch pinks in the lower Fraser. I have also used chartreuse, orange and red coloured lures with some success but pink has always worked the best. Just tie the spinner to your main line and cast out. Let the lure sink for 5 seconds or so and then start to slowly reel in the line. Hope that helps!  :)

rileym97

« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2015, 04:38:26 PM »

Thanks I got a couple of pink spoons that will hopefully work! Is a 7ft rod ideal for pinks or is it too small?

Nicolas The Fisherman