Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Sockeye Flossing opinion & locations  (Read 6859 times)

Silver

Sockeye Flossing opinion & locations
« on: September 23, 2014, 11:57:19 PM »

I've read a lot about this fishery, and I understand that it's frowned upon by a number of serious anglers. I am new to river fishing in general, having only a few experiences in the past on various travels with little or no success.
I believe that the main reason for all of the negativity is related to conduct, and not so much the perception that flossing sockeye is somehow disgraceful?
First of all, it's legal with a license. I don't believe the DFO is completely inept, they have to balance government, commercial, native and recreational interests. I realize that there are serious inequalities and some poor choices...but this is for another discussion.
Then there are the fisherman who pollute by leaving garbage, are selfish by taking more than they are allowed, or keep/harm other fish species.
I bought the book, and tried many of the popular spots...so I have a good idea of the activities of the some of the participants.
With such an abundant opportunity, why is it wrong to collect a few fish if you are willing and able. A serious angler would probably not be interested due to the reduced challenge in tricking a fish to bite...but why vilify the Fraser sockeye fishery in general.
I myself do want to learn more and pursue other more traditional fisheries also, but would probably always participate in the Fraser sockeye also when the runs are abundant.
While I don't like the crazy people and the crowds, I have found a couple of spots that seem to be less popular...but also unfortunately, less productive.
I have been out most weekends since the opening and have only had luck on three of those many days.