Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Chilliwack River, July 13th 2013: Cheese  (Read 3390 times)

adriaticum

• Old Timer
Chilliwack River, July 13th 2013: Cheese
« on: July 13, 2013, 06:14:39 PM »

Today was my first outing to the Cheddar this season. I was really going to camp for a couple of days with some friends and show them the river and how to fish it.
So the expectations were not very high.
I was pleasantly surprised how nice the river looked. A bit high but good visibility.
We started the morning around 6 ish and by the time we got to the river to fish it was 8.
After showing my friend and his wife how to use their gear I threw a few batches of roe into the water where I would not expect to find a fish.
Suddenly my float dips and game on. I am new to the centerpin gear so I have no clue what's going on. The fish shakes like a trout but I can't bring it in.
The fish then took a run and I finally started to feel the reel and realize that it's probably a spring.
After about 5 minutes I had the fish beached around 10 lb male. Just over 64 cm.
Lots of sockeye jumping around.
Some "Fraser dudes" came down with their tackle boxes and nets and got into one nice sockeye, dragged it onto the beach and fish started to bleed.
He wanted to take a picture for his wife or something.
So I had to give them an educational moment about fish handling. The worst part is they had waders and a net and still practically killed that sockeye for a picture.
Maybe they are made of sugar and afraid that they will melt if the come into contact with water.
Hopefully they learned something today.
All in all for me 1 outing 1 fish so I finally caught a fish with the centerpin.
I have to tell the centepin guys that it wasn't all that mind-blowingly exciting to land a fish with centerpin as opposed to the baitcaster.
Maybe I was just in shitty mood from overheating in the sun.