Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Questions on Pink Run and General Beginner Ignorance  (Read 9107 times)

DanJohn

• First Brookie!
Questions on Pink Run and General Beginner Ignorance
« on: August 04, 2011, 01:10:44 AM »

So I am pretty new to fishing. But Ive got a 6 1/2 foot spinning rod, which Ive been told is fine for some pink fishing. The reel says a max load of 8lb test over 130 yards and the rod is a medium action (IM8 if that matters at all to anyone.) A baitcaster salmon rod will be gotten next year so I am trying to work with what I have here. I am hoping some of you could advise me towards a little bit of gear, and where to go to muck around and learn to fish a river. I am only carrying a Non Tidal License, and should be getting my Salmon Stamp in the next little while before I head out. So

From what I have been able to gather so far

1 Pinks love Pink! Sure, easy enough. Lures, wool, whatever. What about size of hooks? I got a few barbless #1's (I think) from a friend. Are these too big for my eventual setup? What about lures? What sort of size would I need?

2 Line. I was pondering it and thinking I could do a 10lb braided test with say, an 8lb leader so the line would go before my rod/reel. From what Ive read though, your leader should be stronger than your main line. So should I go 8lb test with a 10/12lb leader? Is braided even an option? Ive read its quite finnicky on spinning reels, and am not sure if its worth it.