Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Huntin' cuts on the Stave December 27th  (Read 2874 times)

fish2much

• It's all about how you wiggle the worm
Huntin' cuts on the Stave December 27th
« on: December 27, 2006, 12:22:45 AM »

So I went out on the stave today to try out everything I accumulated during Christmas.  I went hunting with my six weight fly rod (of which I am still learning to use) and a whole bunch of flies that everyone swears by.  Well I hunted and hunted, hit seam after seam after undercut bank after plunge pool and only saw two fish make an appearance all day.  The day wasn't completely lacking success as someone was kind enough to show me how to improve my fly cast (in dire need of help  ???).  So four hours weren't completely unproductive.  Could just be one of those days when the bite is not on.

As a quick side note, how have everyone done for steelhead on the Stave, there is supposed to be a run coming in, I'm assuming it's still a few weeks away.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2006, 01:34:25 PM by Rodney »

bbronswyk2000

• Old Timer
  • Not affilaiated with any club.....
Re: Huntin' cuts on the Stave
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2006, 01:30:33 PM »

The Stave run of steelhead is not very big. I have landed one steelhead on that system in 4 years. It was a fluke as I was targetting cutties.

Belong to the "4 F Club"
Fishing, Football, Fitness and Family

fish2much

« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2006, 02:33:23 PM »

Thanks BB,  hey I've noticed from reading one or two posts from you that you seem live in the Maple Ridge/Pitt Meadows area.... have you found anything local that you like, or is that on the DL?

P.S. how'd you do for cuts?

bbronswyk2000

• Old Timer
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2006, 03:29:12 PM »