Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Drennans - yes or no?  (Read 8314 times)

FlyFishin Magician

• Old Timer
Drennans - yes or no?
« on: September 27, 2005, 05:02:39 PM »

Hey guys.  I'm new with the drift rod.  Anyway - I was wondering what you all think of Drennan floats.  Do they provide an advantage?  I suspect that they might in low/clear conditions.  I'm not so sure for pocket water or water with limited visibility.  What's your take on this?  Are they worth 6 - 7 dollars each?

Sterling C

• Old Timer
Re: Drennans - yes or no?
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2005, 05:09:44 PM »

Drenans are superior because they are much more senstive. The slightest tap will cause them to take a swim. As far as color is concerned I've never really thought about this but I'm sure there's alot of other debris floating in a river that a float could be confused for. The only drennans I ever use are the ones I find.
Actions speak louder than words.

Big Steel

• Old Timer
  • Searching for early Steel.....
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2005, 05:14:26 PM »