Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Ice fishing Hot spots ?  (Read 2246 times)

James

Ice fishing Hot spots ?
« on: November 07, 2007, 01:11:12 PM »

A couple friends and I want to go ice fishing ... Except none of us know anything about it . other than . it's cold and you put a hole in the ice . lol

Where ?
When ?
What equipment do I need ?

Thanks for the help .

Jonny 5

• Old Timer
  • Almost the holiest fisher that ever was!
Re: Ice fishing Hot spots ?
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2007, 02:15:41 PM »

I am no expert, but you definately need ice... at least 4 inches otherwise you might fall through.  12 inches if you plan to drive on... you can use an auger to cut through up to 2.5 feet or an axe or ice chisel if it is thinner (less than 6 inches I guess).  For trout I have had luck using velveta cheese on light line and REALLY sensitive rods.  For fish like pike I have had luck using smelt sitting right on the bottom using a texas rig.  White fish are really finicky, but I have caught them using flies just under the ice in 3 feet of water.  Lake trout apparently like a white jig head with a white jig tail although I have never landed one... yet.

I guess my suggestion is to start on a stocked lake and use pretty much the same setup you would use under a bobber.

As for the lowermainland, I don't know any lakes that really freeze... maybe rice lake?

dereke

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2007, 08:58:45 PM »