Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: casting a super silex reel  (Read 7066 times)

vancook

• Old Timer
casting a super silex reel
« on: December 11, 2009, 10:52:09 AM »

Ok so I'm new at this and have never cast a center or a silex reel before. I've been looking up casting a cp and then I realized the two silex reels I have are not open all around like an islander or other cp reels. So my question for you guys on here that own silex/super silex reels is what kind of cast do you use? Also do you have anywhere on the web that explains it or info, I've found nothing.
thanks guys

HOOK

• Old Timer
Re: casting a super silex reel
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2009, 12:53:47 PM »

whereabouts do you live Vancook ?? we could get together and i could help you out. I fish a Silex myself

i normally use a sidearm swing cast because its nice and easy and i could do it in my sleep. having said that though there is alot of casts you can use to get it out there with a CP. i have done some strange casts in certain situations and im not sure if they actually have names for the cast LOL
Check out our new blog

http://funonthefly.blogspot.ca/

mastercaster

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2009, 05:20:04 PM »

If you do a search on this site I believe there is already posted info.  Most experienced silex fisherman use a side arm cast from the left since all the reels are right handed.  Drag is applied using the last 3-4 fingers of your left hand on the top of the reel to stop the reel from spinning when your float, etc. hits the water, otherwise you'll backlash  When playing a fish drag is applied the same way.