Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Outboard in winter  (Read 4245 times)

bmynbr

Outboard in winter
« on: November 20, 2015, 09:54:57 AM »

Quick question, first winter with a boat and not sure what I am supposed to do. I would like to use the boat during the winter, but not sure what to do after using it. Should I just run some coolant into it. Don't want anything to explode when it gets cold. 
Thanks, Dave

RainbowMan

• We need longer weekends...when fishing is good
Re: Outboard in winter
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2015, 10:04:50 AM »

Are you storing your boat in a garage?

bmynbr

« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2015, 11:16:55 AM »

No I'm not. It's in my driveway

RainbowMan

• We need longer weekends...when fishing is good
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2015, 03:40:05 PM »

I'm no expert in outboards or boat maintenance and I store my boat in the garage but even with that my mechanic advised me on 2 things:

1- Make sure you have fuel stabilizer mixed with ethanol-free gas (Shell 91 or Chevron 94) in your outboard tank. I found Seafoam to be the best fuel stabilizer for my Honda. When you flush the engine at the end of each trip (assuming that you take your boat on the salt), detach the fuel hose and let the engine run until it burns all the leftover gas in the carb/fuel pump. This will minimize the risk of moisture buildup in your fuel system.

2- Make sure there's no water mixed with oil in your lower unit. Check the oil. if it's milky and not clear, change the lower unit oil ASAP.

It is actually a good idea to take the boat out on the water during the winter season. Last year we had a fantastic boating season and I never really got to "store" the boat for more than 2-3 weeks. I'm sure other experts can add more.

skaha

• Old Timer
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2015, 04:11:34 PM »