Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: looking at new rods  (Read 6685 times)

Hook Set

looking at new rods
« on: September 18, 2006, 07:12:38 PM »

I have been looking into a new rod and rell combo for river fishing for salmon. We are looking at a trophy XL custom 10.5 foot medium heavy for $104.95. The reel we are looking at is a abu garcia 6500C3 for $129.98. I was wordering if these are decent prices for these products. I am looking for a good quality rod that will last me but not break the bank as I am fairly new to drift fishing and and my dads pockets are only so wide.  ;D
 Any info and suggestions would be appreciated

small_fish

• Hi!
Re: looking at new rods
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2006, 07:26:19 PM »

I just brought my salmon river fishing road, just last week. I brought a shimano convernce 12-20 lb 10"6 Medium action rod.
With a abu garcia 6500C3 For $210 bucks at army and navy. I'm new to fishing, but im basically extremly happy with my setup, I will have the chance to try it out friday  ;D

Hook Set

« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2006, 07:44:32 PM »

sounds good. I am really looking forward to getting a new rod too as have had the same spin casting  rod as long as I can remember

cohokid

• Old Timer
  • 28 landed- 11 lost
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2006, 07:45:51 PM »

i personally like the trophy's better then the convergances. trphys have a little more whip to em.

Hook Set

« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2006, 09:37:25 PM »

does anybody know if these are reasonable prices for these??  I am looking for a decent rod and reel.

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2006, 09:50:12 PM »

I think it's reasonable price

Eagleye

• Old Timer
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2006, 11:23:06 PM »