Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: wader help  (Read 4895 times)

smellmysox

wader help
« on: December 21, 2013, 07:28:48 PM »

Hi, I'm an novice angler, this is my 1st season fishing for steelies. I went shopping for wadders over at Fred's today, well it ocoured to me that I don't know a thing about them. Can anyone share some advice on what to look for? I'll be fishing the Vedder.

leapin' tyee

• can't get enough
Re: wader help
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2013, 07:32:46 PM »

What is your price range and are you looking for neoprene or breathable waders?

smellmysox

« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2013, 07:41:59 PM »

Breathable, couple hundred bucks

mikeyman

« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2013, 08:58:55 PM »

Buy quality will last for years. Buy cheep it will last a year or 2. Depending on how much walking u do. Or how many days u r on the water. I buy boots a size bigger and slip socks over the neoprene booties. Helps cut down on friction and holes. Buy some aqua seal for minor repairs. Breathable waders are much more comfortable but make sure u wear a wading belt. I bought a less expensive pair of reddingtons seem to be holding up so far but time will tell. Long johns and one pair of thermo socks underneath. I like the t max From marks also got one of the hooded sweaters keeps me warm. Also a good dry wading jacket is reccomended.

opwins

« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2013, 09:22:56 PM »

G4 simms or the G3..  Will last you for years and can handle the abuse of serious hiking and bush whacking. 

zap brannigan

« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2013, 10:01:06 PM »

look up frogg toggs, good price amazing quality and backing.