Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Trailer wheel bearing cleaning...DYI???  (Read 5495 times)

Spawn Sack

• Old Timer
Trailer wheel bearing cleaning...DYI???
« on: July 02, 2014, 12:07:18 PM »

So I have no idea when the bearings on my boat trailer were last cleaned/serviced, or what condition they are in etc. We bought the boat/trailer around this time last year and mostly just tow it on short trips locally; however, on occasion we take it with us to the Bridge Lake area so the trailer is doing 100km/h or so on the highway for several hours. Before our next road trip I would like to get the bearings done by either myself (preferably) or a shop.

I have never done this before, but have watched some Utube vids and it looks prety easy. I'd have to go buy the solvent + grease but I doubt the cost is much, certainly less than paying a shop to do the job.

Does anyone haev any tips on this? For example, how often it should be done, etc. I notice in some vids the guy takes the wheel off, and on other they don't bother.

If I end up bringing it to a shop, where would you guys reccomdnf taking it? I live in Chilliwack. Any idea how much a job like this goes for?

Oh and I noticed on another recent thread someone commented that one should carry extra wheel bearings with them. Seems like a good idea. How do I tell which ones my trailer has? Just bring one into a parts store when I'm cleaning it?

And what the heck is a bearing buddy???

I am reasonably mechanically inclined. I figure if I can take apart complicated firearms, clean them, and put them back together I can surely handle cleaning a damn wheel bearing! :o

PS: if anyone on reaing this is in chilliwack and experienced at doing this, and would be willing to walk me though it the first time, I'd be willing to offer up a case of beer for your troubles.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2014, 12:09:06 PM by Spawn Sack »