Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Indian Arm/Belcarra Fishing from a boat  (Read 11805 times)

Mkulak

Indian Arm/Belcarra Fishing from a boat
« on: May 19, 2014, 08:49:19 PM »

Hello,

I'm quite new to BC (Used to live about 1 hour north of Toronto and spent a lot of time trolling Lake Ontario with my Dad) and I'm looking for a few places to take my boat before the Salmon fisheries get productive in the Ambleside area.

As I started to buy my own gear this year my wife decided that she wanted a crab trap and picked one up today.  I've read the regulations (male only) and just need to pickup a measuring tool and then I will have all the gear for crabbing.  We live in the Port Coquitlam area so I was thinking about launching the boat at Rocky Point in Port Moody and heading up the Indian Arm to the Belcarra area to try our luck dropping our trap from the boat (16ft Inflatable with 25hp Yamaha) vs from that busy pier.

While crabbing I'd like to do a little fishing from the boat and was wondering what fish I should/could be targeting?  Sounds like Flounder/Sole is one of the options available but I'm not too certain how to catch them as I understand they don't move around much.  Any advice that you could recommend to a newbie to the area?  I'm assuming a carolina rig would make the most sense but I'm not certain.  Your advice would be most welcomed :)

Any other fish I can catch in that area?

PS - I'm aware of the Rockfish conservation areas around the area and will certainly avoid them.

redtide

• Old Timer
  • catch anything?
Re: Indian Arm/Belcarra Fishing from a boat
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2014, 09:29:27 PM »