Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Upper Squamish fishing tips needed!  (Read 7033 times)

stumpsjr

Upper Squamish fishing tips needed!
« on: December 16, 2013, 11:32:56 AM »

Hello,

I went on an adventure yesterday and checked out the upper squamish, about a couple clicks past the power house.  I was wondering if anyone had any tips to fishing that section. I was going after bull trout and running an egg pattern with a small indicator.  I'm fairly new to fly fishing and very new to nymphing, was hoping you guys may be able to offer up some advice, as I didn't really have any luck. Thanks!

Dogbreath

Re: Upper Squamish fishing tips needed!
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2013, 10:54:14 PM »

It's tough without a boat since you're often standing where you want to fish and fishing where you want to be standing.

Plus wading can be surprisingly dangerous!

Fish often lie right next to shore if you see a cut bank work it carefully especially the tailout.

Ian Forbes

« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2013, 09:40:29 AM »

Although there are native rainbow trout and a few cutthroat in the upper Squamish, the main fish species is the Bull trout that can occasionally reach 10 to 12 pounds. However, most Squamish Bull trout average 2 to 4 pounds. Bull trout are notorious predators and anything that looks alive will be attacked. In the murky water of the Squamish the best fly patterns tend to be large, dark and with bead, cone or lead-eye heads. Black, burgundy or purple colours work well in long hair or marabou. Although they very strong fish, Bull trout tend to be lazy and stay out of the main current. They also have great olfactory senses and can smell fresh meat from a long distance downstream. We once cleaned a moose by a northern river and the next day there were 20 Bull trout feeding on the remains.

stumpsjr

« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2013, 11:45:58 AM »