Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Sturgeon Rod Options  (Read 5018 times)

DionJL

• Old Timer
Sturgeon Rod Options
« on: September 22, 2015, 04:22:25 PM »

Well I broke my trusty 7' Lamiglas Big Game rod a week ago and now I'm looking for a replacement. I'm a little out of the loop on this since I've been fishing the same rod for about 10 years now. I would gladly buy another, but they don't make them any more. What I'm looking for is a 7' one piece extra heavy rated rod with a strong butt end and a sensitive tip. I also want a full metal reel seat and a tough handle material (cork seems to chew up in holders). I have a flexible budget for this, so please suggest anything that seems to fit.

chronicfisher

Re: Sturgeon Rod Options
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2015, 03:42:50 AM »

I'm assuming your fishing from boat? Noticed your old rod is only 1 piece 7ft.

DionJL

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2015, 11:38:49 AM »

Yes, that is correct.

sg6804

« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2015, 12:14:29 PM »

if you are willing to go to an 8ft rod it gives you many more options . The 8ft techniums are an awesome rod and well priced and never have given me a problem . if price isn't an problem then go with the Lamiglas Sturgeon rod it has everything you want and is my favorite rod . I now have a pair of both the 8ft and the 9ft models . Fred's sells the lamiglas rods as well as the techs so you can compare them side by side

Magz

« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2015, 12:25:40 PM »

X 2 on the technium.very happy with mine.my dad uses the same rod.very sensitive tip with all the back bone u will need.they do no have a metal reel seat.although they seem to hold up great.

DionJL

• Old Timer
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2015, 01:08:08 PM »