Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Flyfishing line  (Read 6580 times)

senpai

• I'm a llama!
Flyfishing line
« on: March 16, 2005, 10:41:47 PM »

I have a 6wt flyrod and current have 6wt floating line on it. I want to get some sinking line. Should I be looking at getting some F/S or S line.  I am relatively new to flyfishing. Will be basically using it for both river and lake fishing. Any assistance or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
Re: Flyfishing line
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2005, 10:46:12 PM »

Rio Multi Tip gives you several options.

d_w

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2005, 11:19:14 PM »

rio versa tip is a great choice if your river fishing, but would not give the advantage of the full sink line, being the whole line sinks, and the versa tip 10-14ft of the tip
Fishing Is life the rest Is just details

The Gilly

• Old Timer
  • Let equity be the rule of our actions
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2005, 11:15:19 AM »

I just bought my Rio this week.  I love it.  Spend the $150 on it and you'll have 4 lines and only 1 reel.  If you have your heart set on a sinking line, I would get a fast sink.  It will get deep quickly and for the full length of the line.  I'll still use my fast sink in the lakes as the changeable tips on sink on the first 15'.  Fast sink line with floating flys can be deadly for the trout.  Remember, 90% of the trouts diet is taken under water, not on top.

Sandy

• Old Timer
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2005, 06:11:13 PM »

as The Gilly says,I'd  go with the multi tip system, I'm changing as soon as the CFO autherises it 
finding your limits is fun, it can also be VERY painful.

If you care about Canada's future, get involved by holding your MLA's & MP's accountable!! don't just be sheep!!

marmot

• Old Timer
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2005, 02:43:29 PM »