Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: I'm new to salmon/steelhead fishing...  (Read 5971 times)

mikejvr

I'm new to salmon/steelhead fishing...
« on: December 03, 2004, 12:30:02 AM »

As the subject says I am brand new to this sport and have wanted to get into it for years.  Now is the time.  After talking to a couple of friends I think I am going to get 2 different setups.  One for salmon and the other for steelhead.  I have decided to go with the Berkley IM7 rod with either a 8'6" or 9' med or med heavy (not sure yet) rod for steelhead and a Berkley IM7 8'6" heavy rod for salmon.  For my Salmon reel I am planning on getting a baitcaster, but can't decide between the Shimano Calcutta 400 or the Abu Garcia C3 5501 or 6501.  Also I am planning on getting a spinning reel for steelhead.  One friend recommended the Shimano Sedona 2000.  What do you guys think of these setups.  I want something that is going to last a while, but also don't want to go broke buying it.  Any and all recommendations and advice are greatly appreciated.  Thanks for your help.

blaydRnr

• Old Timer
  • nothing like the first bite of the season
Re: I'm new to salmon/steelhead fishing...
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2004, 01:02:54 AM »

i don't like to target steelhead, but for salmon this is what i think.

if you're just starting out i wouldn't invest in a calcutta, at least not yet.  they're superior in quality, but are too  expensive to use as a learning device. i would go with an ambassadeur c3 6500 series (6501 for lefties). and i would go med action not heavy, for rods. 

i use a c3 and find that for its price, its very dependable.  i like to use med heavy rods because i fish alot of fast water.  med action is less strenuous on your arms and are also strong enough to haul in 18-30 lb springs.

Fish Assassin

• Old Timer
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2004, 01:10:35 AM »