Fishing with Rod Discussion Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Express Reel Service  (Read 4423 times)

andrewscag

Express Reel Service
« on: January 17, 2016, 11:49:53 AM »

Anyone used these guys?  I have a few reels that could use a tune up and Mike's is usually a long wait.

Spawn Sack

• Old Timer
Re: Express Reel Service
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2016, 04:34:45 PM »

I've been using Kevin for about 5 years. HIGHLY recommend him! I find him to be 100% honest and all of my reels have always come back buttery smooth. To give an example of his honesty, several times I've taken him a reel and said something like "I think the X is worn out and needs replacing." Say the drag washers or whatever. On more than one occasion he has said, nope, it's fine I just gave it a good clean and lube and it's totally fine. He could have easily replaced the part and I would not have argued as I was the one who suggested it in the first place.

I don't think he's that cheap, but you DO get what you pay for. If he just takes the reel apart, cleans and lubes it, I think it's about $45 bucks. He'll try and sell you on a "super tune" where he buffs all of the friction points with a Dremmel buffer wheel. I think it's an extra 5 bucks, maybe a bit more. I would recommend going for this as the reel will come back SO smooth, like better than the reel was new smooth. Typical bill after taxes would be $55 bucks or so with the super-tune.

Email him at info@expressreelservice.com

He works out of his home so make sure you show up during his working hours. Oh and he only takes cash, no debit or credit. This is a bit of a pain for me I just make sure I get the amount before I pick up my reel(s) and make sure I bring enough cash.

Dogbreath

« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2016, 05:46:28 PM »

Well posted Old Timer!

Danny21

« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2016, 06:09:46 PM »